Local News

Tripura Lok Sabha : CPI (M) candidate Shankar Prasad Datta files nomination

Shankar Prasad Datta and an Independent candidate filed their nominations for two Lok Sabha seats of Tripura Tuesday, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sriram Tarani Kanti said.

Datta submitted his papers here for the West Tripura constituency while Subir Kumar Jamatiya filed nomination for East Tripura (ST) seat at Ambassa in Dhalai district, the CEO told reporters.

Tripura has two Lok Sabha seats and elections for West Tripura and East Tripura would be held in two phases on April 11 and 18 respectively. Both are held by the CPI(M).

The CPI (M) is ahead of opposition parties in campaigning in both the segments while the ruling BJP and Congress are yet to declare their candidates.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.