Congress Loses Power In Puducherry, V Narayanasamy Resigns, Blames BJP

In a massive setback for the Congress ahead of assembly elections in five states, the Chief Minister V Narayanasamy government lost the floor test in the legislative assembly, following a mass resignation of MLAs.

The Congress-DMK ruling alliance had the supported 12 MLAs, including one Independent candidate, while the opposition, All Indian NR Congress and AIADMK, has 14 legislators in the 33-member House.

The Congress government in Puducherry collapsed today after losing its majority and Chief Minister V Narayanasamy resigned.


After two exits on Sunday, the government’s numbers had dropped to 12 MLAs in the house where the majority mark is 14.

After a series of resignations from the Congress, Mr Narayanasamy was asked to face a trust vote last Thursday, the day his party leader Rahul Gandhi visited Puducherry to prep for polls due by May.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.