12 Rajya Sabha MPs suspended for entire session

On the first day of the Winter Session of Parliament, the government moved a motion to suspend twelve Rajya Sabha MPs from Opposition parties for the rest of the session, over their unruly conduct during the previous monsoon session.

In a joint statement, the opposition said the suspension was “unwarranted and undemocratic” and that the floor leaders of the parties will have a strategy meet tomorrow.  The letter, however, was not signed by the Trinamool Congress, which is skipping today’s opposition meet as well.

The MPs have lowered the dignity of the House by unprecedented acts of misconduct through their violent behaviour and ‘intentional attacks’ on security personnel

Apart from Priyanka Chaturvedi and Dona Sen, MPs who have been suspended on Monday are Elamaram Kareem (CPM), Congress’s Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, CPI’s Binoy Viswam, TMC’s Shanta Chhetri and Shiv Sena’s Anil Desai.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.