Dipak Majumder new Mayor of Agartala Municipal Corporation; oath on 9th Dec

Dipak Majumder is set to become the Mayor of prestigious Agartala Municipal Corporation. The oath taking ceremony will be held on December 09 .

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Agartala Municipal Corporation polls with a sweeping majority, with the ruling BJP winning 217 out of 222 seats.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has won three seats while the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and TIPRA Motha won one seat each.

A high level meeting of state BJP Mahila Morcha has approved the name of Manika Das Dutta for the post of Deputy Mayor.

The ruling BJP won all the seats of the 51-member Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC), besides being declared winners in several other urban local bodies. The opposition Trinamool Congress and CPI(M) failed to open their account in the AMC.

The decision has been taken followed by a meeting of Bharatiya Janata Party’s central observer Vinod Sonkar, who arrived in the state on Sunday to finalize the names of the heads of Agartala Municipal Corporation and other urban bodies.

Sources said that senior BJP leader Deepak Majumder is among the front runner councillors who have all the eligibilities to run the AMC and most importantly he has the necessary experience of running an urban local body.

Sources said, “Deepak is the choice for the post of Mayor”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.