Tripura News Live


Congress announces list of 17 candidates for Tripura Assembly polls

Tripura Pradesh Congress has announced candidate list for the 2023 Tripura Assembly elections on Saturday.

However, factional conflict and anger has started to flare up among party workers and supporters since the announcement.

Anger has arisen among the local Congress leaders and workers in Dharmanagar due to the nominated candidate name.

They demanded to change the Congress candidate in this center through a press conference and said that otherwise they will leave the party enmasse.

It is to be noted that the Congress has nominated Chayan Bhattacharjee for the Dharmanagar assembly constituency.

Meanwhile, anger also arisen among the local Congress leaders and workers over the Congress candidate in the Matabari assembly constituency.

They have locked the Congress party office in Matabari constituency and highlighted the issue through a press conference.
Notably, Congress has nominated Pranajit Roy in this centre.

In the 2023 Tripura Assembly elections, the Left-Congress alliance is on the verge of breaking up. Congress had to rely on the mercy of the Left for seat sharing, which is unacceptable by a section of the Congress leadership.

The Congress has announced candidates for 17 seats without accepting the 13 seats left by the Left.

Meanwhile, the Congress top leadership is currently in a very uncomfortable position due to rise of such anger protests within the Congress party after the announcement of the candidate list.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: