Tripura News Live


LS polls Seat sharing saga continues for BJP tripura

The seat sharing between BJP and its allies in Tripura remained unresolved.

The seat sharing complications between the BJP and its ally IPFT remained unsettled even as the leaders of the two parties held hectic meetings here on Wednesday.

BJP general secretary Ram Madhav on Wednesday held the first round of seat sharing arrangement with alliance partner Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) for the two Lok Sabha seats in Tripura.

He told media persons here, “We had the first round of discussions today, our Deputy CM (Jishnu Dev Varma) will have another round by evening or tomorrow morning and finalise electoral understanding with the IPFT.”

NC Debbbarma is the chief of the IPFT.

BJP and IPFT had formed the government in the state last year after the Assembly polls, unseating the Left Front. IPFT has said it will contest the Lok Sabha polls in the state on its own.

Voting for both the seats in Tripura will be held on April 11 and 18 respectively.

The Election Commission of India on Sunday announced the dates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. The votes will be counted on May 23.

BJP general secretary Ram Madhav and IPFT president and Revenue minister of Tripura Narendra Chandra Debbarma separately told the media after the meeting that the discussion on the seat sharing issue would continue.

The IPFT has been urging the BJP to allot it one of the two Lok Sabha seat in Tripura while the dominant party is adamant to field candidates in both seats according to partt sources.

However, the leaders of the two parties also indicated that the seat sharing issue would be “resolved soon”.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: