Tripura News Live


Mayor, councilors to take oath today

The newly elected members of Agartala Municipal Corporation and some other urban bodies will take oath on Wednesday.

Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb will join the swearing-in ceremony of 51 member AMC at Rabindra Satabarshiki Bhavan where the new Mayor Dipak Majumder along with other elected representatives will take oath of office.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Agartala Municipal Corporation polls with a sweeping majority, with the ruling BJP winning 217 out of 222 seats.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has won three seats while the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and TIPRA Motha won one seat each.

The ruling BJP won all the seats of the 51-member Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC), besides being declared winners in several other urban local bodies. The opposition Trinamool Congress and CPI(M) failed to open their account in the AMC.


%d bloggers like this: