Tripura News Live


Newly elected members of Agartala Municipal Corporation takes oath

BJP leader Dipak Majumder takes oath as the new Mayor of the prestigious body while Monika Datta Das takes oath as deputy Mayor.

All the elected members of Agartala Municipal Corporation has taken charge of office here at Rabindra Satabarshiki Bhavan on Wednesday.

A total of eight people were inducted as the Mayors in councils. Those who have been appointed in the Mayor Council are, Jagadish Das, Sampa Sarkar Sen, Hiralal Debnath, Himani Deb Barma, Tushar Kanti Bhattacharjee, Bapi Das, Uday Bhaskar Chakraborty and Hari Sadhan Debnath. Thousands of BJP supporters attended the swear-in ceremony held at Rabindra Satabarshiki Bhavan Agartala.

The saffron party had contested its first civic polls after it stormed to power in the north-eastern state in 2018.

Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, Tripura BJP state president Dr Manik Saha, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Barma, Education Minister Ratan Lal Nath, Speaker of the Tripura Legislative Assembly Ratan Chakraborty and other senior leaders were also present in the programme.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Agartala Municipal Corporation polls with a sweeping majority, with the ruling BJP winning 217 out of 222 seats.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has won three seats while the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and TIPRA Motha won one seat each.

The ruling BJP won all the seats of the 51-member Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC), besides being declared winners in several other urban local bodies. The opposition Trinamool Congress and CPI(M) failed to open their account in the AMC.


%d bloggers like this: