Tripura News Live


Tripura by-election: A battle of prestige for BJP as CPIM eyes the seat

Tripura BJP is gearing up for the upcoming by-elections to be held in two constituencies in Sepahijala district.

Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha, State President Rajib Bhattacharjee and other prominent leaders of BJP are campaigning aggressively while CPIM, the opposition party seems less enthusiastic.

Notably, CPIM MLA Shamshul Haque from Boxanagar died due to a heart attack and Dhanpur MLA Union Minister of State Pratima Bhowmik resigned from her MLA position.

These scenarios made the by-election mandatory in both constituencies.
BJP nominated Tafajjal Hussain the Boxanagar constituency and Bindu Debnath for the Dhanpur seat.

Notably, Hussain is a prominent figure in Boxanagar, whereas Bindu Debnath holds the position of the party’s mandal president in Dhanpur.

The CPIM nominated Kaushik Chanda for Dhanpur and Mijan Hussein, late Shamshul Haque’s son for Boxanagar.

Although TIPRA Motha and Congress have not fielded candidates in both constituencies to prevent division in anti-BJP votes, they are not supporting the CPIM wholeheartedly, as CPIM suddenly fielded candidates without consulting with these parties.

There is no official confirmation regarding support of Congress and TIPRA Motha for CPIM’s by-election campaigns.

Notably, CPIM joined an alliance in Tripura in February during assembly elections. They remained united as they joined BJP’s Opposition INDIA group at national level.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: