Tripura News Live


Tripura: Congress, CPI(M) release joint statement seeking ‘restoration of democracy’

Six Opposition party leaders of Tripura made a joint appeal to the voters of Tripura to rise above all party barriers and forge a common anti-BJP front to give a tough fight and oust the BJP government from power.

CPIM state secretary Jitendra Chowdhary, Forward Block president Paresh Sarkar, CPI (ML) secretary Partha Karmakar, CPI state secretary Judhishthir Das, PCC president Birjit Sinha and RSP state secretary Deepak Deb signed a joint statement on this regard.

The joint statement said that the BJP has created an unprecedented situation in Tripura after coming to power, by misleading the people with false promises, by destroying democracy, normal political life, by suppressing all legal, fundamental and constitutional rights and bulldozing the opposition.

Opposition parties said, “As long as the BJP is in power, the state will continue to suffer from the oppression of the BJP and all development work will stop. Many people have lost their livelihood and been displaced from their homes and hearths. Crops are also being destroyed by fire. Police are working as slaves to the ruling party”.

The joint statement asked the police to respect their uniform and professional duties as well as appealed to the Election Commission to take strict steps to ensure peaceful and smooth election so that people can exercise their voting rights smoothly and peacefully.

The statement certainly gave a new dimension in the state politics and seat sharing arrangements in the upcoming assembly elections.


%d bloggers like this: