Tripura News Live


Tripura municipal election 2021 results live updates: BJP ahead in early trends

BJP leading in maximum seats in the Tripura Municipal Polls race

Vote counting cum result declaration for the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and other Urban Local Bodies (ULB) polls have begun from a very early morning. The security arrangements have been tighten across the state to counter any possible post poll violence and affrays.

An official from the Tripura State Election Commission (SEC) said the counting started in 13 counting stations across all the eight districts of the state where three tier security is in place by the administration.

BJP candidates are leading in 8 seats in both Ambassa and Sabroom. Also, in Agartala Municipal Corporation ruling BJP is leading almost in every seat.

In AMC Ward number 1 and 2 the BJP candidates are declared winners. In ward no 2 the candidate Sharmistha Bardhan Secured 4979 votes against her closest candidate from INC securing 1854 votes.

The final vote percentage stood at 81.54 percent after over 4.93 lakh voters exercised their franchise in the elections, according to officials of the State Election Commission (SEC).

The elections were fought mainly between the three parties -BJP, TMC and CPI(M) amidst alleged violence, allegations of attacks and Court interventions.

The Tripura Police has arranged a three-tier security arrangement for the counting centres by deploying Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) Tripura State Rifles (TSR) and police personnels to maintain the law and order situation.

“It is requested of the members of the public not to pay any heed to any kind of rumours. Tripura Police appeals to the citizens of Tripura to maintain peace and tranquillity during and after counting of the votes,” the police statement reads.


%d bloggers like this: