Tripura News Live


Tripura: No Party Flags In CPIM, Congress Rally In Agartala To “Restore Democracy”

The CPI(M) led Left parties and the Congress organised a joint rally on Saturday in Agartala demanding an end to pre-poll violence and to ensure free, fair, transparent elections.

It is the first time that these parties organised a joint rally. CPI-M politburo member and four-time CM Former CM Manik Sarkar, CPIM state Secretary JItendra Chowdhury, Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman, AICC secretary Szarita Laitphlang, Tripura Congress President Birajit Sinha, AICC Tripura in-charge Ajay Kumar and former Chief Minister Samir Ranjan Barman, and many other leaders of both parties led the rally.

After the rally leaders of the seven parties – Congress, CPIM, RSP, CPI (ML), CPI, Forward Block and Tripura People’s Party met Chief Electoral Officer Kiran and various senior police officials.

Congress leader Sudip Roy Barman said that the rally on Saturday is not a political activity, rather an effort to honour aspirations of people.

He added that the CEO assured that the ECI would take all steps free and fair elections by considering all their concerns.


%d bloggers like this: