Tripura News Live


Advance planning, use of technology and strict monitoring ensure largely peaceful elections in Meghalaya & Nagaland

Polling for General Elections to the State Legislative Assembly of Meghalaya and Nagaland was held today across 59 ACs each in the two states. Polling for 23-Sohiong (ST) AC in Meghalaya was adjourned due to the death of one of the contesting candidates. Since 31-Akuluto AC in Nagaland remained uncontested with only one candidate, no Poll was required there. Polling across 3419 polling stations in Meghalaya and 2,291 PS in Nagaland went off peacefully today.

Advance planning and extensive monitoring by the Commission led by Chief Election Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar along with ECs Shri Anup Chandra Pandey and Shri Arun Goel ensured smooth conduct of elections in the two states with no repoll reported in any of the 5710 polling stations.

Polling was also held today in 98-Erode (East) AC of Tamil Nadu, 60-Sagardighi AC of West Bengal where bypoll had to be scheduled to fill up the vacancies due to death of sitting candidate as also in 23-Ramgarh AC of Jharkhand due to disqualification of sitting member. Voting in 215-Kasba Peth AC and 205 – Chinchwad AC in Maharashtra was successfully held on Sunday 26th February 2023.  No voting was required in 01- Lumla (ST) AC of Arunachal Pradesh with the seat declared uncontested.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: