Tripura News Live


Defeat Of Opposition in the Election of Speaker is Confirmed: Tripura CM

Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha said on Tuesday that defeat of opposition in the election for Speaker post of State Legislative Assembly is confirmed.

While speaking to reporters, he said, “They have no majority numbers. Therefore, their defeat in the election is confirmed”

Notably, Congress announced that its candidate Gopal Chandra Roy for the upcoming Speaker post poll to be held on March 14. Roy has been selected unanimously by the opposition parties including TIPRA Motha and CPIM.

The nominations for the Speaker post have to be submitted on March 23 before 1 pm.
CM Dr Saha added, “They are depending on each other. First of all they (Congress) takes support with one party (CPIM). Currently, they are taking support from another party (TIPRA Motha).”

He further said they are busy in such work and their defeat is confirmed. BJP won 32 out of 60 seats, while its ally IPFT got one seat in the recently concluded Tripura assembly elections.
Meanwhile, Tipra Motha won 13 seats and the CPI(M) won 11 seats and Congress won 3 seats.
On March 24, the Tripura Assembly’s next session will begin.


%d bloggers like this: