Tripura News Live


Tripura: National attention on Tripura’s bypolls

By-election in four assembly seats – Agartala, Town Bardowali, Surma, and Jubarajnagar will be conducted on June 23.

The bypolls are being seen as a semi-final for next year’s Tripura assembly elections and gained significant national attention.

BJP is trying to keep its hold on three seats in Bardowali, Agartala and Surma as well as hoping to snatch the fourth from CPIM.

The resignations of BJP legislators Ashish Saha from Town Bardowali and Sudip Roy Barman from Agartala and the death of Left Front MLA Ramendra Chandra Debnath from Jubarajnagar have necessitated by-elections on those seats.

On the other hand, MLA Ashish Das was disqualified from his position in Surma constituency by the assembly Speaker after he joined the Trinamool Congress from the BJP.

Chief minister Dr Manik Saha, who recently replaced his controversial predecessor Biplab Deb, will be contesting from Bardowali.

He has never contested an election and his contest is against Ashish Saha, who is now with the Congress. It is a major battle in Town Bardowali.

Moreover, the by-election will show the performance of Congress with the popularity of disgruntled BJP leaders.

Further, the untimely election will also measure strength and popularity of Trinamool Congress and TIPRA Motha party in Tripura based on the results.


%d bloggers like this: