Tripura News Live


Voter turnout at 1.00 pm is 35.44%

Voter turnout at 1.00 pm is 35.44%

Peaceful environment prevails as polling for WEST tripura constituency continues.

No incident of violence or foulplay is being documented yet.

The CEO said yesterday 13,47,381 voters including 6,82,044 male and 6,65,327 female voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 1679 polling stations of the constituency.

Tripura has two Lok Sabha seats – West Tripura and East Tripura. Election to the East Tripura seat will be held on April 18 during the second phase.

Chief Electoral Officer, Sriram Taranikanti said, elections would begin at 7 am and would continue till 5 pm and adequate security arrangements have been made.

“Adequate security measures have been taken, 99 per cent voters have received their voter slips, 30 polling stations would be fully manned by women and a total of 3030 postal ballots have been cast so far for the West Tripura parliamentary constituency,” Mr Taranikanti told reporters.

Altogether, 13 candidates including BJP’s Pratima Bhowmick, CPI(M) nominee Shankar Prasad Datta and Subal Bhowmick of the Congress are in the fray.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: