Tripura News Live


Former Tripura CM Biplab Deb Elected to Rajya Sabha

Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb won the lone Rajya Sabha seat of Tripura through the bypoll held on Thursday.

The BJP leaders cast 43 votes, whereas 15 votes were cast in the favour of Left Front candidate Bhanulal Saha.

After the victory, Biplab Deb tweeted, “Gratitude to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura for electing me as a Rajya Sabha MP. Gratitude to PM Sri @narendramodi Ji, @BJP4India President Sri @JPNadda Ji & HM Sri @AmitShah for giving me this opportunity to represent Tripura in Rajya Sabha”.

It is to be noted that the lone Rajya Sabha seat fell vacant when Dr Manik Saha, incumbent Chief Minister, resigned in June to contest the Assembly bypoll.

Party workers celebrated the win in front of the BJP headquarters at Krishnanagar in Agartala, the capital of Tripura.

Deb was recently made the BJP in-charge for Haryana. He said that he already started organisational work in Haryana and will also work in Parliament with full capacity as he has been entrusted by the central government.
At the press conference after the victory of Biplab Deb, CM Saha said that all elections were equally important.


%d bloggers like this: