Tripura News Live


Second Day of First session of 13th Tripura Legislative Assembly today

The 13th Tripura Legislative Assembly began its first session in Agartala on Friday.
Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya gave the opening address and praised the state administration, Election Commission and all those involved in ensuring the smooth and peaceful completion of the 2023 Tripura election.

He also mentioned that the government aims to double farmers’ income to Rs. 13,590 per month by 2022-23 from Rs. 6,580 per month, which was in 2015-16.

BJP MLA Bishwabandhu Sen was elected as the new Speaker in the Tripura Legislative Assembly by defeating Congress MLA Gopal Chandra Roy through ballot voting.

Sen received 32 votes while Roy got 13 votes.
The 13 members of the TIPRA Motha party abstained from voting by walking out of the assembly.

Notably, the number of members in the assembly was reduced to 59 after the resignation of Pratima Bhoumik.

Animesh Debbarma, a TIPRA Motha MLA, has been appointed as the Opposition leader in the Tripura Legislative Assembly, as TIPRA Motha Party has the second-highest number of legislators.

Meanwhile, State Finance Minister Pranajit Singha Roy presented a Vote on Account worth Rs. 9,066.56 crore for the first quarter of the next financial year 2023-24 in the assembly.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: