Tripura News Live


Tripura Elections 2023: Congress-CPIM Agree on Sharing Formula to Defeat BJP

The Congress and CPIM led Left Front finalised their seat sharing agreement on Thursday, as it was the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers for the 2023 Assembly election.

A conflict was created when the Left Front announced candidates on January 25 for 47 seats out of the total 60, leaving only 13 for Congress.

However, the Congress took it badly and reacted by declaring candidates in 17 constituencies.

Central leaders of the two parties discussed the matter and accepted the formula of 13 seats the Congress and 47 seats to LF to defeat BJP.

Tripura Pradesh Congress president Birajit Sinha said that the seat sharing deal between CPI(M) and Congress was settled for the upcoming election on Thursday, the last day of withdrawal of nominations.

He added that all the three Congress leaders have withdrawn their papers according to the agreement, who had submitted nomination papers.

Birajit Sinha further said that the CPIM candidates also withdrew their nominations in 13 constituencies, who submitted papers before the declaration of this seat sharing agreement.

He added that both parties will campaign jointly to ensure the defeat of the BJP, which has throttled democracy in the past five years.
Senior CPIM leader Pabitra Kar said the debate with Congress over the seat adjustment has been resolved finally through discussion.

Although Tipra Motha is contesting solo, the party did not field a candidate against Congress president Birajit Sinha in Kailashahar seat and against CPIM state secretary Jitendra Choudhury in Sabroom.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: