Tripura News Live


259 candidates to contest Tripura assembly polls

In a press conference on Thursday evening, Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte said 310 nominations were submitted for the upcoming assembly election among which 19 nomination papers were rejected due to various issues.

CEO Gitte added that 291 candidates were left from the nominated candidates, while 32 candidates withdrew their candidature on the last day withdrawal of nomination.
He added that after all the procedure 259 candidates are in fray while the number was 297 in 2018.

The final candidate list indicates that 55 from BJP, 43 from CPIM, 42 of Tipra Motha, 6 from IPFT, 13 from Congress, 28 from Trinamool Congress, 1 from CPI, one each of CPI (ML), RSP, AIFB, and TSP, 2 of TPP, 7 of other unrecognized party while 58 are independent.

He also said that the ballot paper distribution process will start from Friday and the voting process through postal ballot will start from next week.

He said that the election commission is providing security to candidates based on threat perception.


Click here