Tripura News Live


Manik Saha takes oath as Tripura CM for second term in PM Modi’s presence, 8 ministers sworn in

In the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah, BJP national president J P Nadda, and few other top leaders on Wednesday, Dr Manik Saha has taken the oath as the chief minister of Tripura for the second BJP-led government in Tripura.

Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu, Sikkim CM Prem Singh Tamang and Manipur CM Nongthombam Biren Singh was also present on the occasion.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at Vivekananda Stadium in Agartala and was administered by Governor Satyadev Narian Araya.

Saha along with eight cabinet members took oath, while three ministerial berths of the cabinet were kept vacant.

Sources claim that these would be filled up with the members of the second-largest party TIPRA Motha, which won 13 seats, if they agree to join the government.

After taking the oath as the CM, Dr Saha said, “I am committed to the development of the state with any political consideration. I believe in a democracy people have the right to vote for opposition parties and the co-existence of the ruling party and opposition is the beauty of India, which led to development and prosperity”.

He added that the new government shall drive Tripura into a model state under the guidance of Prime Minister Modi.

Meanwhile, senior leaders and ministers of the outgoing cabinet, Pranajit Singha Roy, Ratan Lal Nath, Sushanta Chowdhury and Santana Chakma again took the oath as cabinet ministers.

Four new faces, including second-time MLA Sudhanshu Das and 3 first-time MLAs, Bikash Debbarma and Tinku Roy of BJP and Shukla Charan Noatia of IPFT were included in the cabinet.


%d bloggers like this: