Tripura News Live


Tripura: BJP-IPFT alliance gets majority in 60-member assembly, returns to power

The Bharatiya Janata Party has come to power alone in Tripura for the second time by winning 33 seats single handedly out of 60 seats.

However, state deputy chief minister Jishnu Debbarman, state BJP president Rajib Bhattacharjee had to face defeat.

Royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman could not become the king maker, as his party Tipra Motha won only 13 seats.

The results of the booth return survey were fairly consistent. BJP was facing a two-pronged challengein this election due to the CPIM-Congress alliance and the rise of Tipra Motha in the hills.

Various heavyweight leaders of BJP like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, actor Mithun Chakraborty and many others has repeatedly rushed to Tripura.
On the other hand, top leaders of Congress like Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, Mallika Arjun Kharge did not come to campaign in Tripura.

In 2018, the BJP single-handedly won 36 seats. Although their seats have decreased slightly, BJP has managed to maintain the winning average.

Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman and state president Birajit Sinha as well as former state Congress president Gopal Roy won.

CPM state secretary Jitendra Chaudhary won.
Meanwhile, CPM’s result is worse this time. CPM got 16 seats in 2018, whereas they won only 11 seats this time.

CPM’s public support further declined in the state. In particular, a large section of the party did not accept the CPM’s alliance with the Congress.

On the other hand, Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha, Education and Law Minister Ratanlal Nath, Information and Cultural Affairs Minister Sushanta Chowdhury and almost all members of the state cabinet have won.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Tripura Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha and former Chief Minister and incumbent Rajya Sabha MP Biplab Kumar Deb congratulated the voters.
Congress has accepted defeat.

Although voter turnout of Trinamool Congress increased, they could not win any seats.
Meanwhile, CPM has lost its status as an opposition party.

Now, Tipra Motha is the main opposition party in Tripura with 13 seats.


Click here
%d bloggers like this: